Picture of signed tagI am reading “Steve Jobs” by Walter Isaacson. Well, actually, I am listening to the audiobook version so that I can knit at the same time. Yesterday, I was reminded how Steve Jobs insisted that the entire Macintosh team sign their work of art: the original 128K Macintosh. He asked the team to sign their names on a piece of drafting paper, which was then engraved into the mold for the inside rear panel case.

Similarly, I believe hand-crafters should sign the works of art that they are putting up for sale. If an item is purchased as a gift, the recipient will see the signature and know that it was not mass-produced. If the buyer is keeping the item for themselves, the signature can send a signal that they are purchasing something unique and hand-made.

What is the best way to sign knitwear? My usual approach is to create tags from heavy card stock, onto which I sign my name and neatly write the care instructions. I like using a metallic gel pen on black or dark brown paper. I have also printed the care instructions onto business cards, using my ink jet printer and perforated business card stock from an office supply store, and then signed my name on the back of the cards.

Picture of signed tags

I would love to hear your ideas for how to sign knitwear and other hand-crafted items. Please post your comments. Thanks!

