Lisa and her Infinity WrapMany knitters prefer to knit in the privacy of their homes, never venturing outside with their needles. I’m not sure why this is the case. I bring my knitting pretty much everywhere I go so that I can  make progress on my current project. I also find that, if I have my knitting with me, I am more patient when there are any unexpected delays at doctors’ offices, sports practices, and so on.  I even look forward to getting somewhere early so that I can knit a few rows in my car before an appointment!

With my charitable focus, I also find that knitting in public gives me the opportunity to talk about my fundraising. For example, my two teenage children both enjoy sports, and I always knit while I am in the stands cheering them on. Parents often ask me what I am making, and, as I tell them about the specific project on my needles, I mention that I sell my knits to raise money for a non-profit. When they inevitably ask, “Which non-profit?”, I briefly summarize what the organization does and why I support them. It’s a nice way to spread the word.

As you might imagine, some parents ask if they can buy my knits either for themselves or as gifts. While I knit throughout the year to create enough inventory for my holiday boutique sales, I am more than happy to sell things to friends at any time! Recently, a mom from my daughter’s volleyball team expressed an interest in buying one of my infinity wraps. I brought them to our next tournament, and she purchased three of them. (Thanks, Lisa!) That’s her wearing one in the photo above.

You may see people knitting in your neighborhood during “World Wide Knit in Public Day,” which consists of locally sponsored events that take place from the second Saturday to the third Sunday each June. This year, it is from June 9-17, 2012. More information is available on their web site, http://www.wwkipday.com/.

Logo for World Wide Knit in Public Day

The next time you see someone knitting in public, I encourage you to say hello and ask them what they are making. Who knows what you might discover by doing so.

