I have been thinking about how to combine leather with hand-knitting. The contrasting qualities of these materials is striking, and I believe leather accents can add a bold, fresh look to popular knitwear.

I recently made a very simple garter stitch infinity scarf and embellished it with a leather bracelet I purchased from American Eagle. It’s a snap…to make and to add the bracelet!

Infinity Scarf with leather cuff

To create another look, I wrapped the cowl around my neck twice and used the bracelet to cover the folds of the cowl:

Twice wrapped infinity scart with leather cuff

I also used the same leather cuff to cinch my Eileen Capelet:

Eileen Capelet with Leather Cuff

The bracelet itself is beautiful. Of course, you could use any leather cuff with a snap closure to achieve these looks.

Leather bracelet

Interested in making these knits? Check out my patterns: It’s a Snap and Eileen.

I will continue to explore how to combine leather with handknits in future posts. In the meantime, I will pin my ideas to my “Wool & Leather” board on Pinterest.com.

