Photo of purple Kidsilk Creation ScarfRecently, I visited a local yarn store and saw a fabulous mohair & silk ruffled scarf. I tried on the sample and thought to myself, “Instant glamour!” I was wearing jeans and a long-sleeve tee, but was ready to go to a party with that scarf wrapped around my neck. I had to make one!

The scarf is the Kidsilk Creation Scarf by the Rowan Design Studio. Kidsilk Creation is a lovely, soft yarn made of 70% super kid mohair and 30% silk. It takes one skein of yarn (about $25) to make the scarf.

In the last week, I have made a few more, one of which I donated to the silent auction at my son’s school. I recommended to the auction committee that they start the bidding at $30. I am hoping that the scarf will go for $60-$80 at the auction, which will take place in late March. I’ll be sure to update this post after the auction with the final amount.

I am also thinking these scarves will sell well at my fundraising boutiques next December. It will be fun to make a whole bunch of them!

