Each January, I start searching for a project to knit (and knit and knit) for my holiday fundraising boutiques later that year.  Once I find a project idea or two, I make samples to show to friends to get feedback. I am curious to know if they like the samples, what they think of the price I am considering, and if they have suggestions for improving the designs, colors, or yarns I have chosen.

For 2012, I have honed in on two patterns. One is the Shaw Hill infinity wrap, a design by Alicia Plummer. I’ve made two so far:

Picture of Shaw Hill infinity wrap, knit in black

Picture of Shaw Hill infinity wrap, knit in red

The feedback on these infinity wraps has been uniformly positive, so I have decided to make more of them for my fundraising. I am currently working on a beautiful apple green one. I’m also planning on making a couple of black ones and some cream ones. My cost of goods is about $20 per wrap, and I hope to sell them for $60 each.

The second pattern is the KidSilk Creation Scarf, which I wrote about in my previous blog post. All of my friends who see this scarf LOVE it. I’m planning to make them in all the colors that Rowan produces, including bright green, fuscia, blue, off white, purple and charcoal. This yarn retails for $25/skein, and I believe I can sell them for $60 each.  They are really fabulous!

Picture of three Creation Ruffled Scarves

I would love your feedback on these projects. Please leave comments about the patterns, colors, prices, and any other thoughts you have. Thank you!

