Miss Representation is a documentary that explores how the media’s misrepresentations of women have led to the underrepresentation of women in positions of power and influence. It exposes how American youth are being sold the concept that a woman’s value is based on her youth, beauty and sexuality. It highlights how this message limits the leadership potential of women throughout society. It is a powerful film.

So, why is a knitting blog mentioning this documentary? Let me explain.

Reason #1: I recently had the opportunity to attend a screening of this documentary at my friend Michelle’s beautiful residence in downtown San Francisco. About a dozen women were there, and we had a lively discussion after the film. Afterwards, I read more about the film on their web site and took a pledge to tell five people about it. This blog post is my way of telling a few of my friends.

Reason #2: In 2011, one of the recipients of my knitting profits was a scholarship fund for girl acolytes at my church. It turns out that many years ago, a wealthy parishioner generously established a scholarship fund only for boy acolytes. While other parishioners have donated enough to start a scholarship fund for the girl acolytes, the size of the fund pales in comparison to the boys’. I don’t want the girls at our church thinking they are less important than the boys, and over the coming years I hope to donate enough to the girl acolyte scholarship fund to have awards be gender-neutral. I’ll have to do a lot of knitting, but it will be worth it.

I’d love to hear what you do today (or might do tomorrow) to combat the negative images of women portrayed by the media portrays, and to help young women see themselves as future leaders.

