Fashion sketch of the twisted collar pieceSomething caught my eye on Pinterest last week…a beautiful chunky knit collar-skirt by Masnada. It has two wide ribbed strips that are twisted and attached to a collar (or waist band, if you were to wear it as a skirt). How striking! After obsessing about this piece for a few days and sketching it out, I decided I had to try to make it.

First, I needed some bulky yarn. Just like a seamstress uses inexpensive muslin fabric to create prototype designs, I wanted to use a cost-effective bulky yarn to initially design this piece. I headed to my local discount craft store and found Debbie Norville Serenity Chunky on sale for less than $3 per skein of 109 yards. Perfect!

Next, I started knitting the strips. Using US size 11 needles, I cast on 15 stitches and worked in 1×1 ribbing for 44″. After knitting a second strip to match, I laid the two strips on the floor to arrange the twists, pinned the twists together, joined the twisted piece into a circle, and used a three needle bind-off to join the edges together.

Knitted strips twisted around each other

The challenging part was to figure out the design of the collar. Should I make it as a separate piece and sew the twisted strips to it? Or, could I pick up the edges of the twisted strips and knit up from there? Because I strive to minimize sewing in my patterns, I decided to try to pick up the stitches.

My first attempt, however, was a disaster. I picked up some stitches along the “hills” of the twists, and cast on some over the “valleys”. After knitting for a couple of inches, I tried it on. It was awful; the cast on edges curled and looked sloppy. It was so bad I didn’t even take a photo.

I quickly ripped out those inches and started again, this time picking up stitches along both the hills and valleys. Much better! Here’s a photo showing my “take 2” after I had knitted the collar for a few inches:

Collar being knit

Last night, I finished knitting it, and I’m really happy with how it turned out.

Finished Wrap

I’m thinking about turning my notes into a pattern. Would you be interested?

–Karen

 

Update, Nov 12 2012: After publishing this post, I released a pattern for this wrap. You can find it here.

