Back in September, I made the “Felt Simplicity” necklace  from a single burgundy felted bead, and subsequently wrote a post about how it needed more color. I am happy to report that I finally added that spark of color!

This past weekend, I had the opportunity to go to Interweave’s Knitting Lab in San Mateo, CA. At the marketplace, I found some hand-dyed wool roving in just the perfect olive green. And the vendor was willing to sell me just the small amount I needed for two beads. It cost me exactly 55 cents.

Back at home, I first strung two metallic charms on either side of the burgundy bead. I then made the olive green beads, first by knotting some roving around the necklace cord, then needle felting it into a ball, and finally finishing it by rolling it in my palms with hot soapy water. Here are the before and after photos:

Necklace with one bead

Necklace with more beads

What do you think?

