Photo of the Malabrigo Hand ThingiesWrist warmer redux? Try to say that three times fast!

Back in 2009, I sold over 30 pairs of wrist warmers for my holiday sales. I’m already starting to plan my 2013 fundraising, and I think wrist warmers will be popular again. After all, they are practical, stylish, and worn by people of all ages.

At first, I wasn’t sure what wrist warmer pattern and yarn to use. I knew I wanted a different pattern than I had used in the past, simply because I had gotten tired of it after making 30+ pairs. But, on Ravelry, there are over a thousand patterns for wrist warmers! I searched and thought about patterns for a few weeks before getting “a sign.” A good friend needed to sell some yarn in her stash, so I offered to buy all 19 skeins of her Malabrigo Worsted. I was happy to help her out, and I knew I could use the yarn to knit the wrist warmers.

After narrowing my search for patterns for Malabrigo, I settled on the Malabrigo Hand Thingies by Anne Sahakian. I liked the style of this pattern, and I thought I would be able to get 2 pairs of “hand thingies” from 1 skein of Malabrigo.

Fast forward a couple of weeks, and I’m loving knitting these thingies. I am able to knit 2 pairs from each skein, and my goal is to use all 19 skeins to make 38 pairs. I’m hoping they will sell like hot cakes!

–Karen

