I love listening to knitting podcasts. One of my favorites, Stash and Burn, is running a contest this year called “Use It or Lose It”. They are challenging their listeners to choose yarn from their stash and either start using it or decide to lose it by giving it away, selling it, or donating it. And, because it is the year 2013, they are encouraging us to do this 13 times. That’s right…choose some stash yarn and use it or lose it 13 times over the course of the year.

While I don’t have a large stash, I definitely have one! So, I’ve decided that I am up for this challenge, with the added goal of creating things for my charitable fundraising.

My first project was the Wrap It Around Bracelet, made from some bamboo and cotton yarn in my stash.

My second project involved tackling a bag of partial skeins of Debbie Bliss Como. I used this yarn in 2011 to make Mobius Cowls in assorted colors for my fundraising, and I had tucked all the left over yarn into a bag. There wasn’t enough of any one color to do much of anything with, but I couldn’t bear to throw it away! So, I just put it all in my stash cupboard.

When I thought about this bag of yarn and the “Use It or Lose It” challenge, I decided I could make felted bowls. They are quick to knit, and I could combine different colors to make stripes on the bowls. Here’s a picture of the bowls before I felted them:

Bowls before Felting

And here’s a photo of the bowls after felting them in the washing machine:

Bowls after Felting

I’m happy with how they turned out, and I bet I can sell them for $5 each at my fundraising next December.

My stash is lighter, and I’m feeling good about what I made. Now I need to think about my third project for the challenge…

–Karen

