Lemons in a Yarn BowlSometimes I knit something for myself that I don’t like once I finish it. Perhaps it doesn’t fit me well. Or, the colors aren’t as complimentary to my skin tone as I initially thought. When this happens, I could scream to myself, “What a lemon!” But I don’t. Instead, I consider donating it to a silent auction.

Just such a thing happened this week. I finished making a capelet from some beautiful yarn I received as a gift. However, when I tried it on, I realized the green and oranges washed me out. Simply put, I looked awful. There was no way I was ever going to wear it.

Green Alpaca Capelet

While I’m disappointed that I won’t be enjoying this capelet myself, I am comforted knowing that my knitting will not go to waste. I will donate it to the upcoming silent auction at my church. Someone with a different skin tone than me will be sure to love it!

On top of all that, I thoroughly enjoyed working with the yarn and creating the capelet. The yarn was such a thoughtful gift, and one that I so happy to receive, to knit, and to turn into a fundraising opportunity.

What are your “knitting lemons” stories? I would love to hear about them. Please comment away!