Necklaces on the counter at the salonI am always looking for opportunities to sell my hand-knits to raise money for charitable causes. Recently, my hair stylist offered to sell my Desert Meets Sea necklaces at her salon. (Thank you, Gina!) By doing so, not only is she helping me with my fundraising; she is also helping to spread the word about the charity that will receive the profits: the Homeless Prenatal Program in San Francisco.

To accompany the necklaces, I created a small sign describing the Homeless Prenatal Program (HPP). It says, “By seizing the opportunity created by pregnancy and parenthood, HPP partners with families to break the cycle of childhood poverty in San Francisco.” Gina created a nice display on her counter, and I am hopeful that many of her clients are reading the sign and reflecting on how they might help others who are less fortunate than themselves.

I asked Gina to sell the necklaces for $40 each, and she sold one within just a few days. I am crossing my fingers that she will sell all four of the necklaces I made!

I will donate 100% of my profits to the HPP. Given that my cost to make each necklace is about $10, I will donate $30 per necklace sold. Granted, my sales will result in a modest donation, but I know the HPP welcomes every donation they receive, regardless of size.

Sign for Homeless Prenatal Program